Home > Uncategorized > Bad Hair Day

Bad Hair Day

October 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Ever the dedicated follower of fashion (ha!), I’ve recently decided that I could do with changing up my hairstyle a little. The problem is, my knowledge of good hairstyles is pretty minimal and so I turned to the Internet for help.

One thing that became apparent is what fashion deems to be interesting styles for men are actually pretty horrible. Although part of me is wondering if this impression is because of the specific styles or if it’s because they’re being presented by models who look like they want someone to punch them in the face.

I’ve never understood the compulsion for models to pout all the time. It looks bad when the ladies do it, and just looks plain silly when the men do the same. Sure, if you want to look like a duck, it’s a great thing to do, but most normal people would shy away from it.

The most common expression, however, is a smug, self-satisfied smirk. I assume it’s meant to signify “yeah, my hair is fantastic and I look great, bask in my glory” whereas I tend to read it as meaning “I am full of myself, please punch me in the face”

But then maybe it is the styles. There’s something kind of ridiculous about the determination to make men’s hair vertical all the time. If it’s not being pushed up into a faux-hawk (people still have those?), it’s being spiked to all hell. Worst of all, the quiff seems to be a thing nowadays, so you get guys with ludicrous towers of hair on their head. Great if you’re Paul Phoenix from Tekken, not so much if you’re an actual human being. Look at this guy gazing longingly at his hair idol.

Also, what is this?! This simply looks like the guy’s hair is desperate to escape his head.

Guess it’s proof of how little I get fashion as a concept. What’s “in” at the moment tends to just look silly.

The problem is, this doesn’t solve my haircut problem. Guess I’ll just have to stick with the shaggy, just-got-out-of-bed look. Can’t go wrong with that, right?

GOD DAMMIT!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

