Home > Uncategorized > The Cheap Ferret Returns!

The Cheap Ferret Returns!

September 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Good day to you all, my dear readers!

Bet you’ve been wondering where I’ve been all this time, right? After all, it’s been a month since I last posted anything, so you’re probably curious where I’ve been. Basically, I was beginning to think the blog was a bit directionless, a bit confused and generally a bit crap, and it needed to be fixed.

But I had no intentions of closing it down. Instead, I took a month off to have a good hard think about what I wanted to do with this place. Initially I was going to change everything, but I ended up deciding that I like the structure I’d already created for myself, so I decided to just tweak it a little bit. Much easier than tearing it all down and starting again.

First of all, under the old system I never really did anything for Freelance Friday. I made one post about not posting ratings on SvTM, but after that I could never really come up with anything worthwhile to post and so it remained abandoned for the longest time.

And then it hit me. Why don’t I take the concept of writing about my writing into a new area? Why don’t I just write about my life, make it more personal?

Wait, no, come back! I can assure you that I have no intention of blindly rambling on about my life. I promise! Instead, I have a mission to post about my attempts to become a much better functioning adult, get over my social awkwardness and generally do my best to getting into this writing lark. I’ll be distilling it down to the interesting bits, making them funny and universal and basically making something that you guys might actually want to read. In theory.

I’m also moving it to Mondays. Why? Because it’s my blog and I felt like it, OK? GAWD GET OFF MY BACK.

So because that’ll be a Monday thing, the news story stuff will be moved to Friday. This will also undergo a bit of an overhaul, since I feel the entries I would tend to post for that would be a bit too mean-spirited and angry, when I want this blog to be warm and entertaining and fun and happy and all that good stuff and not so much a place to rant about things I don’t like all the time.

So I aim to try and do something much better with it. Since the Monday theme will be trying to make sense of my own life and aspirations, Fridays will be trying to make sense of the world at large. It will also be funny and entertaining and you will want to read it. In theory.

I will be keeping Gaming Wednesdays, and making more of an effort to write about gaming things that I enjoy, rather than making snide comments about the things I don’t. Again, it’s mean-spirited and I don’t want to be mean-spirited. Fortunately, the first post for that will be a nice happy thing about my new favourite video game character, who is amazing. Those who follow me on Twitter may already know who I’m talking about.

In addition to this, I want to try and tie Gaming Wednesdays into my Youtube channel, where I currently have various Let’s Plays up. Problem is, I’m not sure how I want to go about this right now. So, I shall attempt to post up a video on Wednesday for you and my Youtube viewers to throw suggestions at me, and for now I will carry on trying to write silly posts about video games.

And then, A BRAND NEW THING! On Sundays, I want to have a showcase of fun stuff. I want to show off some of my fiction, so I may start posting fiction snippets on Sundays, alongside a showcase of stuff that I’ve been enjoying over the past week. I’m willing to take suggestions for things to share on Sundays, so if you want to share stuff in that Sunday post too, let me know and I’ll have a nose. That includes your own blogs and videos and art and whatever else! If you make cool stuff, I want to know! RIGHT NOW!

So that’s that. Welcome to The Cheap Ferret v2.5, or something. I’m not good with version numbers. It will be better. It will be more entertaining. And it will be glorious. And I hope you will be willing to join me for the ride.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. October 6, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

