Home > Sunday Roundup > Sunday Roundup: 24th November 2013

Sunday Roundup: 24th November 2013

November 24, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hello and welcome to the first Sunday Roundup for a while, where I recap all the stuff I’ve been writing about this week and share some other cool stuff I’ve been looking at.

On Monday, I carried on my mission to Become A Grownup by examining my poor sleeping patterns and why they were making me so unproductive, and set myself a goal to procrastinate less. You’ll see how well I did tomorrow when I post my update on everything.

For Gaming Wednesday, I decided to take a look back at my favourite PS3 games, in honour of the release of the PS4 last week in the US and over here in the UK next week. I’m curious to see what people think of my choices, so please take a look and let me know your opinions.

Finally, I wrote two more entries, which were meant for Friday and Saturday, but both of them got posted just before this one. The Friday entry was delayed because part of me didn’t want to post it. Part of me felt that it would be misunderstood and would show me in a bad light, when in fact the point of the entry was trying to address a problem in a movement that has otherwise good intentions.

The “Saturday” entry is the beginning of a new experiment that I will explain a little more tomorrow in the Becoming A Grownup post, where I talked about how Google’s attempts to force Google Plus onto users of other services can only be a bad thing for their image in the long run. That got delayed simply because I never got round to posting it yesterday.

Over on SvTM, I posted up a review on Tuesday that I couldn’t wait to write; a dual review that explained my feelings about Quentin Tarantino being massively overrated in my eyes. I’m sure many will disagree with my opinions there, but take a look anyway and argue it out with me if you so wish.

I also posted a review of The Red Shoes, which is a film that angers me the more I think about it, with a central plot point that could be solved with a bit of common sense.

Anyway, next week’s movies will be from two critically acclaimed directors, and cover topics as diverse as fluid identity and swingers’ parties. It’s an interesting pair of movies, I can tell you.

As for stuff I’ve been looking at, there are two gaming critics I follow who posted interesting videos this week – the first being Escapist review editor Jim Sterling, who skewered criticism of games reviewers receiving free games, with claims that these free games were somehow bribery and not just them doing their jobs.

He also made a personal video about the Xbox One, where he made fun of some of the early issues surrounding microtransactions and DLC being far too prevalent. They’re both worth a watch.

Meanwhile, Anita Sarkeesian posted the latest in her highly interesting series Tropes vs. Women In Video Games series, this time about the “Ms. Male Character” who exists as little more than a counterpart to the male character and is generally little more than a male character with a bow.

Sarkeesian is a controversial character in gaming circles, but I find her videos incredibly interesting, even though I don’t necessarily agree with everything she says. But her videos are certainly good talking points.

In sillier news, I massively enjoyed the story of a teenager from the north of England getting so drunk he ended up in Paris the next morning. It sounds like something out of a bad comedy movie, but this actually happened, and it’s hilarious.

That’s all I have for you this week. I shall see you tomorrow with the next edition of Becoming A Grownup.

Categories: Sunday Roundup
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

