Home > General Gaming > Paris Games Week PlayStation Conference Opinions

Paris Games Week PlayStation Conference Opinions

October 28, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yesterday was the Sony conference from Paris Games Week, where Sony promised a whole bunch of stuff for the coming year. I wasn’t able to watch the conference live, but I did watch it through last night, and so I decided to share some of my impressions of the show. I did skip around a lot, so games I’m less interested in got less of a look-in. But here we go. My hastily-written first impressions of everything shown at Sony’s Paris Games Week conference.

Black Ops 3/Star Wars Battlefront
I skipped these because CoD was never my scene and I don’t like Star Wars (and by that I mean the original Star Wars trilogy is alright and I can watch it, but I don’t get the hype AT ALL).

Street Fighter V/Tekken 7
Never been much of a Street Fighter fan, so I mostly skipped that (although I did rewind a little to find out why the presenter was wearing deely-boppers). Tekken 7, however, seems to be making a big deal out of its storyline for a change, and it looks like they’re dropping all pretenses and going full-on Mishima family soap opera now. If this is indeed the case, you may take my money, Namco. I would play the hell out of a ludicrous Mishima family soap opera. No joke.

Battleborn
Ehhhhh it’s Borderlands with Ratchet & Clank‘s colour palette.

Boundless
This has the same problem as No Man’s Sky in impressing me – it looks nice, the world looks very inventive, but what do you actually DOOOOO? The music also sounded like it came straight out of Bioshock, which I found interesting.

Vector
This just looked like Audiosurf, except instead of having free reign over what audio you surf, this time you’re forced to listen to Avicii. And no one wants to listen to Avicii.

No Man’s Sky
Oh, it’s you! The most over-hyped game of all time. I skipped this. If they showed you what the actual point is, then great. Right now I’m just sensing a prettier Minecraft in space without multiplayer. I could be wrong, and feel free to prove me wrong, but massive “whatever”s all round from me.

Matterfall
Is this Vanquish? Did they just copy Vanquish? This looks like Vanquish.

Ratchet & Clank
Sony seem very reluctant to push this latest R&C, and I don’t know why. I mean, I know it’s a remake of the original game (with Dr Nefarious?????) but they’re pushing the Nathan Drake Collection like crazy and that’s a collection of remasters. At least R&C was built from the ground up. And I am recognising the bits they’re bringing back from the original. I’m interested.

Horizon: Zero Dawn
This demo didn’t feel too different to the previous demo. We got to see a new robo-dino, but the techniques for beating it weren’t too different from the robo-dino at E3. I’d like to know more about this game because it’s interesting, but perhaps some more details on the storyline at this point? Without giving too much away, of course.

Bloodborne expansion thing
I never got into Bloodborne. I hear it’s good for those who like that sort of thing, so I’m happy for those that were entertained by the main game who are getting more, but I skipped this.

Driveclub Bikes
Ah yes, bikes, even less interesting than cars. Let’s see how disastrous the release of this goes. Will it be handled better than the original Driveclub? I swear at one point even the guy from Sony wasn’t sure if it was a full game or an add-on for the existing game. That bodes well.

Gravity Rush 2
YEEEEEEEEES. Take this game, and put it in my hands immediately. Right now. I need more of the Gravity Queen in my life. Even if she is becoming Superman and destroying everything she’s trying to save with those new destructible environments. The different weights of gravity powers seem interesting, and I’d like to know more. I’d also like a release date (unless they said one and I missed it?).

Uncharted 4 Multiplayer
I love Uncharted, but I’m indifferent to the multiplayer, especially as trying to play Uncharted 3‘s MP after a while became a chore that I no longer wanted to endure. Unless they do something revelatory with the new one’s MP, I’m not particularly interested.

Dreams
Oh my goodness! Media Molecule have this alarming tendency to win me over and cause me to emit very strange incomprehensible squeals of glee every time they show off their games. It happened with LittleBigPlanet, it happened with Tearaway, and it happened once again with Dreams. When they first announced it I had no idea what to make of it. I wasn’t entirely sure what it was. Now I get it. It looks weird but absurdly charming and the imp was adorable and the panda-thing (official term, apparently) was adorable, and it made no sense but it looked fun and silly and the MM guys clearly put a lot of love into it judging by the way they were talking about it. Them and the Unravel guy should get together and have an awkward but charming party. And then make the most adorable game.

PlayStation VR
I can’t use 3D. My eyes never want to focus on the images properly so all I tend to see is a blurry mess that gives me a headache. I expect VR to go the same way. And with the games on show moving around like crazy and throwing a bunch of stuff in your face, I expect that playing these games would result in me throwing a bunch of stuff up. VR is not the future. Motion controls were the future, and we went back to traditional controllers but put a gyroscope in. This is a fad that won’t take off because there are too many issues with accessibility.

Gran Turismo Sport
I skipped most of this because while I like the GT series for being “The Racing Game RPG” I don’t really need to see a Nissan shot from every loving angle to show off that yes, it is indeed a vehicle that will be in the game. I’m sure people will be hyped when this releases in 2024.

Wild
I didn’t know what to make of this when it was first announced. Part of me wishes that Michel Ancel would just make Beyond Good & Evil 2 instead. But then I saw that you can RIDE A BEAR AROUND LIKE A HORSE and now this is the best game. I’m sold. I don’t even care what else happens in the game. I’m just gonna ride that bear around and fuck shit up.

Detroit
David Cage binge-watched Humans and said “there it is, there is my emotions” and proceeded to make this. But since David Cage himself is an android who’s obsessed with emotions but doesn’t know how real humans beings react to those emotions, this will be a trainwreck in the most glorious way possible. I’m interested in this, but not for the reasons everyone else is – I want to see just how terrible Cage makes this storyline. Heavy Rain was a ham-fisted detective story and Beyond Two Souls was a ham-fisted Ellen Page simulator, so now we have ham-fisted Humans. I’m also looking forward to Cage somehow finding an excuse to include an android taking a shower or going to the toilet.

Overall, not much that was new and exciting stuff from Paris Games Week, but I liked a lot of the lineup, so there is that. Glad to see a lot more first-party stuff on the way that isn’t a bunch of remasters, and there’s quite a few things here that are already on my wishlist.

  1. JTinRealLife
    October 29, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    You seem a lot more excited than me. More Bloodborne is a gerat thing for me and I share interest in Ratchet and Clank (I think Sunset Overdrive may be why it’s not getting the promotion) and Gravity Rush, but the rest…. Horizon looks like Monster Hunter with less interesting monsters (who are robots, but whatevs).. I still don’t see the appeal of dreams, it just looks like substandard point and click game kit (and sub-standard point and clicks are even less enjoyable than sub-standard platformers)… And Wild just looks like Watch_Dogs but replace every instance of Hacking and Technology with Shamanism and Animals respectively…

    As for the rest, I may well buy GT Sport, but like you I don’t need to hear all that stuff, I just need to know that there’s driving and the price… And that’s about it, I’m not even interested in Uncharted 4 other than your eventual LP of it (they’re decent schlocky action stories, but the game-play really doesn’t do it for me).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

